Not my will but yours be done.

Standard

Let’s start this week off with a little story time:

Debby says to me, “We need to go grocery shopping this morning.” To which I reply, “..ok!”  We get in the taxi and ride to town. So far so good. Get out, walk to a market to buy some chicken and cheese, ok. Then 2dozen eggs from another place, walk down the street buy some fresh fish, turtle, and shrimp from some guy on the street. (I tried VERY hard not to vomit at this point for many reasons.. the smell, just looking at it…) then on to buy more meat from another market. At this point I can’t hold any more so I say “Deby! Can I please purchase a big bag to put all this in???” Thankfully next to the meat market there were bags for sale. The Lord is good. So we put everything in the larger bad which probably already weighs about 15lbs. THEN we purchase a large pineapple and a very large papaya. We put that in the bag. So now I’m walking through the streets carrying this large bag and Deby is carrying eggs and then we stop at a stand to buy vegetables. Like 5lbs of veggies or more! Then we walk into this large building and Deby looks at me and these many stairs and says “I’m so sorry.” To which I reply “yeah. No. Ima sit here with all this stuff while you go!” HAHA so I did. Then we went to a “grocery store ” where we had to check all of our current things into a locker. Bought MORE things. Then Deby put me in a taxi alone and sent me home. With all. This. Stuff. Half way here the driver says “you have fish?!” “…yes..” “SON OF A! No no fish in the taxi. Is it leaking?!?” “No sir.” (Because It hadn’t been leaking) then I get out of the taxi with all this stuff and he helps me and darn it if the dang bag holding everything, including the fish wasn’t leaking. He again said “SON OF A! You said no!” “I said I’m sorry I’m sorry I’m sorry! I’ll wipe it off with my dress!” He said “no no it’s fine” THEN I HAD TO CARRY IT ALL FROM THE ROAD TO THE HOUSE UP THE STAIRS. How’s that for an adventure? (It’s okay if you’re laughing. It WAS pretty crazy)

I’m not going to lie, I had a hard time handling that day. It was a hard day already but on top of that, so many normal tasks throughout that day seemed to go wrong as well and I was so frustrated. I wanted to just pack up and go home. But I knew that wasn’t an option. So I sat down and I talked with God. I said “God. I know you want me here. Without a doubt in my mind I know that this is where I’m supposed to be. But God I don’t want to be here. I need you to give me your heart for this city, for these people. Help me to be okay with the culture. Help me adapt. Because this. is. hard.” Later on that night we were having our devotion time together and what was shared was “doing God’s will” Dale shared about Jesus and when he was praying the night before he died. He didn’t want to die. His flesh absolutely did not want to do it. But He wanted to please His father and do His will and He put that above His own desires. Luke 22:42 “Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.” With that, God’s been encouraging me to really study the life of Jesus during this time of adjusting. I want this to be a season of doing God’s will and not my own. No matter the challenges I face. But even in the challenges He does bring me joy and hope and a lot of that is through you guys! As I was spending time praying yesterday I received an encouraging text message, and then later on my mom sent me the song “This is not goodbye” By Sidewalk prophets. I had never heard that song before but it was exactly what I needed at that moment. We went on a bus ride through the city yesterday and that was so good because it gave me more of an excitement for where I live. God is doing good things here and in me!

I know last weeks blog and this one have been more so about the challenges I’m facing but there have been so many good times too. Deby, my room mate is amazing. She is so patient with me as I’m learning the culture and how to work in the kitchen and we have so much fun laughing and joking together. I really love her. The twins, Esdras and Nissi are amazing too. They’re four and I absolutely adore them! They frequently call me “Dana” lol But they’re so sweet and we have a lot of fun sitting on the floor laughing and playing together and their favorite thing to do is snapchat! “Dana! I want to take a piiiiiicture!”

Thank you all for your constant prayers. They are felt and they are appreciated.

12516062_1038795132826359_1656741564_n

Some of the stuff I was carrying

12571330_1038796509492888_253306839_n

Waiting for Deby

 

12575884_1038796369492902_920027955_n

The fish man

 

 

 

 

 

 

Part of my city                             Nissi helping me budget

Leave a Reply

