A little bit of culture shock…

Standard

Where do I even begin? I guess we could start with the airport. I arrived in ATL last Monday afternoon 5 hours before my flight to Managua, Nicaragua was going to take off. I found out where my gate was, got some food, and made myself comfortable in preparation for my layover. It was becoming closer to boarding time and I was starting to get all of my things together and sending out my last text messages. The plane was at the gate but as boarding time came the lady came over the intercom and said “Now boarding to Guatemala city!” Myself and everyone around me quickly shot to our feet trying to figure out where we were supposed to be!! The gate for Managua had changed but no one announced it. So we all took off running across the airport to the correct gate because it was already past boarding time. Thankfully we all made it but phew, what a rush.

All of the days since arriving have run together and it’s definitely been a lot to get used to. There’s a lot of difference between moving to another country by yourself and coming on a trip with several other people for a few weeks. One is well, the whole I’m staying pretty long term and that’s sunk in several times now and I may have cried a little, and I’m sure I’ll cry some more as the time goes on but for right now, I’m alright and am adjusting well to my new life. The culture shock has been real though. From being thrust into a new culture and not knowing the language, the currency, what in the world you’re supposed to do. You can’t even tell the taxi driver how to get home and have no idea how to cook rice. I can’t just run to walmart or target!!!! Because no such thing exist here or anything remotely similar. I had a dream about Target last night and it’s only been one week. HA! We live across the street from a bar that plays their music very loudly every. single. day. from 2pm- 12am. That’s fun. I did get excited yesterday though, I was in the shower and a VERY hispanic version of “All of me” By John Legend came on. It made me happy a little because it is the only song they play in English but mostly because it was being sung by a Hispanic man with a techno beat. Overall I think the thing I’ll most have to get used to is washing clothes by hand on the “pilla” or scrub sink. I am terrible at it and I feel like my clothes smell worse after I’m done. You’d think I’d have it down after 12 weeks of doing it on my outreaches but no. I’m still bad at it.

There are many other things that I could list I’ve had culture shock over but those are the main ones. All in all I love it here and there’s no place I’d rather be for this next season because I know this is what God has for me. This week we will be unpacking all of our things and getting situated in our new home and probably going out in the evenings to pray in the city.

I’m excited to see what all God is going to do in Bluefields and can’t wait to keep yall updated! Thank you for your prayers and support. Te quiero MUCHO!

Deby and I preparing lunch           Nissi is one of the directors kids

FullSizeRender IMG_5387

IMG_5417              IMG_5416

One of the birds outside our window every morning           Esdras (Their other child) He frequently displays how I feel lol!

image1.jpeg

The “washing machine”

 

Leave a Reply

